Posted by: Kash Farooq | February 20, 2013

Kuala Lumpur Bird Park

We recently spent a week in Kuala Lumpur. It’s a very nice place that I highly recommend. Be sure to take some day trips out of the city to some local attractions too.

My highlight was the KL Bird Park. I really wasn’t expecting this to be my highlight. But they have done it so right.

The main area consists of a large forest in the city that they have basically slung huge netting over to create a giant aviary. It contains 3000 birds (200 species) that are free to fly around and do whatever they please. We saw birds hunting for fish, birds making nests – everything you would expect wild birds to do. And they have become accustomed to humans – they don’t mind people walking about. Perfect for photography.

I highly recommend it.

So, here are some of my photographs. I’ve tried to identify each species. I’m no ornithologist so feel free to correct me!

Clicking an image takes you to a much larger a version.

Yellow Billed Storks

Yellow Billed Storks

Yellow Billed Stork

Yellow Billed Stork

Western & Victorian Crowned Pigeon. Yes, they are pigeons.

Western & Victorian Crowned Pigeon. Yes, they are pigeons.

Scarlet Ibis

Scarlet Ibis

Sacred Ibis

Sacred Ibis

Rose-ringed Parakeet

Rose-ringed Parakeet

Peacock

Peacock

Greater Flamingos

Greater Flamingos

Great Egret (?)

Great Egret (?)

Black-naped Oriole

Black-naped Oriole

Black Hornbill

Black Hornbill


Categories

